Making Over Third Grade!: About Me
 photo Untitled_zpse7ecd2cc.png -->

About Me

 Hi! Welcome to my blog, Making Over Third Grade with Ms. Ryan! I am currently a third grade teacher at a school site in northern California. I started teaching 17 years ago as a second grade teacher. I taught 2nd for six years before moving to third grade. I LOVE teaching third graders as they are so "with it"! From the 2016/17 through the 2019/20 school year I was also an Instructional Specialist for third grade in my district. 

In my teaching career, I have taught at 3 schools - two of them twice! I started my career at a Title 1 site, was given the opportunity to open a new school, and remained there until pink slips moved me out. I transferred twice before ending up back at the school where I started my career. Then two years ago, I was lucky enough to get a position back at the site that I had originally helped open so many years ago. I am truly blessed!

I love curriculum and learning and have been on all of the district material adoption committees for the last 15 years. I have enjoyed piloting the materials and helping the district decide which materials would be the best fit for our needs. Last year I took part in the pilot for our new social studies adoption. Sadly, due to the COVID crisis, this curriculum adoption has been put off until a later date.

I have previously been the third-grade team leader and served on the executive board of the teachers' union. As an Instructional Specialist, I sat on a few districts/bilateral committees. I have also been the yearbook advisor for the five of the last 6 years. I look forward to working with students on the yearbook for this year as well. I enjoy keeping busy! 

I love to learn new things and in that vein, I always seem to be taking new courses for something.  I have my bachelor's degree in liberal studies, my master's degree in elementary education,  and my doctorate in instructional leadership. I also have both an ELA supplemental to my credential and my Autism authorization certificate. I earned my National Board Certification in 2017 and will begin the renewal process this year. 

I am a huge bibliophile but do not get to read as much as I would like due to my very busy schedule though the shelter in place helped me clear several books from my "to read" list and piles. 

My mom and I loved to go to Vegas - it was our thing! It all started with a trip she won a contest I entered her in (without telling her). My mom was my best friend and my guide. She passed away in 2013 but she remains close to my heart and is dearly missed.
Last Trip to Vegas with Mom 2009

I live with my boyfriend, Robert, and our two puppies Roxie (a 1 year old husky) and Bandit (almost a year old sheepadoodle). I have a 25-year-old stepson who I adore.  My dad and one of my younger brothers live in Vacaville and my other brother and his two kids (3rd and 4th grade this year) live nearby in Fairfield. I love spending time with family and friends and am lucky both are all close by. 

I am looking forward to sharing ideas, and learning from others through this blog!

No comments:

Post a Comment